As a parent, you’ve conquered everything from diapers, to homework, to school dances. Now it’s time to help your teen learn how to drive. Before you hand over the keys, let us help you prepare your teen to be a safe driver. Learn more

new freedom more safety icon

NEW FREEDOM. MORE SAFETY.

Driving gives teens new freedom. Safety doesn’t always come with it. Many teens face danger on the road because of a lack of experience. The good news is that there are positive actions you can take to help educate and encourage safe behavior from your teen driver.

washington state department of licensing logo

Washington Department of Licensing provides these great resources to help parents supervise while their teen gains experience behind the wheel.

Download the Parent’s Guide to Teen Driving

Descarga aquí en español

Download the Road Ready app

Lesson plans, tips
and more

DRIVER ED PARENT NIGHT

Driving schools in Washington are required to offer a parent night as part of their driver education program. Ask about it! At these events you’ll see a preview of what your teen will be taught, learn more about the intermediate driver license, and get to know the driving instructors.

driver ed parent night image
leading cause image

LEADING CAUSE OF DEATH FOR TEENS

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for young people ages 16-25 in Washington. This is why our state has an intermediate driver license and a requirement for driver education.

100% PREVENTABLE

More than 100 young people die on Washington roads each year, and it’s completely preventable. Research shows that parent involvement makes a positive difference in a teen’s driving.

100 percent preventable image

GUIDELINES FOR YOU AND YOUR TEEN

Intermediate Driver License (IDL) requirements are designed to improve the safety and ability of drivers ages 16 and 17.

Guía para la Licencia Intermediaria de Conductores de Vehículos en el Estado de Washington en español.

passengers icon

Passengers

  • For the first 6 months: no passengers under age 20 (except immediate family members)
  •  After 6 months to age 18: no more than 3 passengers under age 20 (except immediate family members)
penalties icon

Penalties

A traffic ticket or involvement in a crash is an IDL violation.

  • First violation: passenger and nighttime restrictions will apply until age 18 and a warning letter is sent to parents/guardians
  • Second violation: 6-month license suspension (or until age 18, whichever comes first) and a notice of suspension sent to parents/guardians
  • Third violation: suspension of license until age 18 and a notice of suspension sent to parents/guardians
hours of driving icon

Hours of driving

Until age 18, teens are not allowed to drive between 1:00 and 5:00am unless accompanied by a parent, guardian, or licensed driver at least age 25.

cell phone use icon

Cell phone use

Until age 18, teens with intermediate driver licenses or learner permits can’t use a wireless device while driving, including hands-free devices (except to report an emergency).

WASHINGTON DRIVER GUIDE

For complete information about IDL guidelines, checkout the Washington State Department of Licensing’s Driver Guide

RELATED VIDEOS